Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Crutchfield Named Keeper of the Year, Five Lynx Named to All-NECC Teams

Crutchfield Named Keeper of the Year, Five Lynx Named to All-NECC Teams

MANSFIELD, Mass. –  The New England Collegiate Conference (NECC) announced its 2019 Men's Soccer All-Conference teams and major award winners on Friday morning. The awards were voted on by the conference's seven coaches following the conclusion of the regular season. Six of the seven conference schools are represented on the two all-conference teams, with Eastern Nazarene College leading the way with seven selections.

Eastern Nazarene's Charlie Swann (London, England) was voted the 2019 NECC Player of the Year. Lesley University goalkeeper David Crutchfield (Shrewsbury, Mass.) was selected as Goalkeeper of the Year, while New England College's Wiskins Flavil  (Boston, Mass.) was named Rookie of the Year. Eastern Nazarene head coach Mark Bell was selected Coach of the Year by his peers.

Senior captain Crutchfield led his team to a 5-1 conference record to earn them the top seed in the NECC Tournament. Crutchfield posted a .793 save percentage and made 88 saves on the season. He ranked in the top three with his save percentage and his 1.80 goals against average. Crutchfield and his defenders only allowed four conference goals all season long. He also had three shutouts, with two of them coming in conference games.
Crutchfield was named First Team All-NECC, along with teammate Jack Wadleigh. Wadleigh scored eleven goals on the season, tying him for second place in the NECC. Nine of Wadleigh's goals came over an impressive six game stretch and his goal total included four game-winners, including a critical one in Lesley's 1-0 win over Eastern Nazarene to clinch the top seed.
Midfielder AJ Genova and defender Tiago Pacheco were named Second Team All-NECC. Genova was a constant presence in the middle of the field, delivering a strong season both offensively and defensively. He scored one goal and was constantly reliable in helping to set up his teammates and challenging runs by opposing forwards. Pacheco delivered two goals and two assists on the season and played tremendous defense. Pacheco could always be counted on to clear the ball and challenge every possession as a core part of the defensive unit that only allowed four conference goals.
Andrew Medeiros was the Lynx representative on the Del Malloy Sportsmanship Team. Medeiros has been praised as a great teammate and competitor. He delivered one goal on the year, a game-winner in a 1-0 shutout against Curry College.

First Team All-NECC

F – Charlie Swann, Eastern Nazarene (Jr., London, England)

F – Babba Jaden, Elms (Sr., Clarkston, Ga.)

F – Jack Wadleigh, Lesley (Jr., Glastonbury, Conn.)

M – Edmilson Centeio, Eastern Nazarene (Sr., New Bedford, Mass.)

M – Stanley Elie, Eastern Nazarene (Sr., Roslindale, Mass.)

M –.Leon Zaffonato, Eastern Nazarene (Jr., Canela, Brazil)

M – Panagiotis Galatas, New England Col. (Jr., Hillsboro, N.H.)

D – Ismael Lobo, Eastern Nazarene (Jr., Brockton, Mass.)

D- Carlos Moya, Eastern Nazarene (Fr., Oviedo, Spain)

D – Jackson Easter, New England Col. (Jr., Weare, N.H.)  

GK – David Crutchfield, Lesley (Sr., Shrewsbury, Mass.)


Second Team All-NECC

F- Paulo Corriea, Dean (So., Brockton, Mass.)

F-  Wiskins Flavil, New England Col. (Fr., Boston, Mass.)

F- Tucker Stenger, New England Col. (Jr., Enfield, N.H.)

M- Alex Egan, Elms (Fr., Watertown, Mass.)

M- AJ Genova, Lesley  (Jr., Groton, Conn.)

M- Julian Cortez, Mitchell (Jr., West New York, N.J.)

M- Kyle Clements, New England Col. (Sr., Weare, N.H.)

D – Tiago Pacheco, Lesley (Sr., Cranston, R.I.)

D – Quinn Outerbridge, Mitchell (Jr., Hamilton, Bermuda)  

D – Ryder Valinski, New England Col. (Sr., Portsmouth, N.H.)

GK – Tyler Ferreira, Eastern Nazarene (So., Berkley, Mass.)


Del Malloy Sportsmanship Team

Dylan Foran, Becker (Jr., Busan, South Korea)

Bryce Antoch, Dean (So., Cranston, R.I.)  

Jacob Donovan, Eastern Nazarene (Sr., New London, N.H.)

Tyler Hesselton, Elms (Jr., Leicester, Mass.)  

Andrew Medeiros, Lesley (Sr., Bristol, R.I.)  

Gavin O'Malley, Mitchell (Fr., North Attleboro, Mass.)

Chris Morse, New England Col. (GS, Meriden, N.H.)



The NECC began competition in the 2008-09 academic year and current member institutions compete across 15 sports. The NECC membership focuses on providing athletic competition among institutions that share similar academic aspirations and are committed to the importance of the total educational experience for students engaged in sports. Current members include Bay Path University, Becker College, Dean College, Eastern Nazarene College, Elms College, Lesley University, Mitchell College and New England College.