Lynx Earn No. 2 Seed in 2021 NECC Softball Championship

Lynx Earn No. 2 Seed in 2021 NECC Softball Championship

CAMBRIDGE, MA. – The Lesley Lynx softball team has completed the regular season as the number two seed in the New England Collegiate Conference (NECC) 2021 Softball Championship. The Lynx finished with a 13-5 conference record this season. They hit .361 as a team this season, averaging nearly eight runs per game and hitting seventeen home runs.

Jordan Day and Ilana Zack both finished in the top five in batting average in the conference, with Day in second at .532 and Zack in fifth at .483. Zack also led the conference in doubles with fifteen, while Riley Pickett and Antonia Kieran tied for fifth in home runs with four each. On the mound, Day finished third in the NECC with both a 2.07 ERA and 62 strikeouts. Kara Haga was sixth in the conference in strikeouts with 39. As a team, the Lynx finished atop the conference in on-base percentage with a collective .431 and slugging percentage with a .594 mark. They held a wide margin in first for triples with seven total. 

With the top seed, Eastern Nazarene will host the double-elimination tournament, which will begin on Friday, May 7 with the Lions facing No. 4 Becker College at 12:00 PM. Lesley will face No. 3 New England College at 2:30 PM on Friday. The losers of game one and game two will face-off in the first elimination game on Friday at 5:00 PM, while the two winners will meet in the first game of the day on Saturday at 2:00 PM. The Championship game is slated for Sunday, May 9 at 2:00 PM.


The NECC began competition in the 2008-09 academic year and current member institutions compete across 16 sports. The NECC membership focuses on providing athletic competition among institution­­­­s that share similar academic aspirations and are committed to the importance of the total educational experience for students engaged in sport. Bay Path University, Becker College, Eastern Nazarene College, Elms College, Lesley University, Mitchell College and New England College are the conference's current members. For more information, please visit