Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Women Race to 2nd Place in NECC Championship, 3 Honored on 1st Team

Women Race to 2nd Place in NECC Championship, 3 Honored on 1st Team

WESTFIELD, Mass. –The Lelsey Women's Cross Country team finished in second place at the NECC Cross Country Championhsip race Sunday afternoon at Stanley Park in Westfield, Mass.  Elms College earned first place crowning them the 2018 Women's Cross Country Champions.

The Lynx had three runners place in the top 10 to claim the second place finish.  Nicole Footer (Lewiston, Maine) took second overall for the Lynx in 21:34 while Anne Cooper (Harvard, Mass.) finished fifth in 22:17 and Kayla Ranere (Danbury, Conn.) finished seventh in 22:44.  All three runners earned a spot on the All- Conference First team for their performaces in the championship race, and Footer was also awared on the Del Malloy Sportmandship team.

Four Blazer women finished in the top 12 of the 40-woman race to lead Elms to the championship. Tyana Medina (Springfield, Mass.) led the Elms pack with a fourth-place individual finish, running the 5k course in 22:14. Emily Guillerault (East Granby, Conn.) took sixth in 22:26, Keara Moulton (Ashburnham, Mass.) finished 10th in 23:12 and Julia Trezza (Wilbraham, Mass.) took 12th in 23:23. First-year coach Jill Bigos earned NECC Women's Cross Country Coach of the Year recognition for her efforts.

Newbury took third, led by an eighth-place performance from Averie Greeley (Ledyard, Conn.) who ran in 22:51. The nighthawks were followed by Eastern Nazarene, which boasted the NECC Women's Cross Country Runner of the Year Rodelina Kingsley (Lawrence, Mass.), who won the women's race in 21:10. Kingsley also claimed Rookie of the Year honors among NECC women.

Bay Path finished fifth, highlighted by a third-place individual finish from Briana Serrato (Chicopee, Mass.), followed by Mitchell and Dean.


NECC Women's Cross Country Major Awards 

Runner of the Year: Rodelina Kingsley - Eastern Nazarene 

Rookie of the Year: Rodelina Kingsley - Eastern Nazarene

Coach of the Year: Jill Bigos - Elms


NECC Women's Cross Country All-Conference Performers:

First Team All-NECC

Kayla Ranere – Lesley

Emily Guillerault – Elms

Anne Cooper – Lesley

Tyana Medina – Elms

Briana Serrao – Bay Path

Nicole Footer – Lesley

Rodelina Kingsley – Eastern Nazarene


Second Team All-NECC

Hamido Hassan – Newbury

Mary Jok – Newbury

Julia Trezza – Elms

Shakira Henriquez – Newbury

Keara Moulton – Elms

Kathryn McCormack – Mitchell

Averie Greeley – Newbury


Del Malloy Sportsmanship Team

Megan McKenna – Bay Path

Nicole Romero – Dean

Rodelina Kingsley – Eastern Nazarene

Emily Guillerault – Elms

Nicole Footer – Lesley

Victoria Shalko – Mitchell

Dominic Thoroughgood – New England College

Shakira Henriquez – Newbury

Maddy Main – Southern Vermont