Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Both Lynx cross country teams tabbed for first

Both Lynx cross country teams tabbed for first

CAMBRIDGE, MA -- Both are back-to-back defending champions, and both are picked to finish first yet again. Lesley's men's and women's cross country teams were both picked to finish in first in the NECC in this year's coaches' polls.

Lesley men's cross country is in search of its third straight NECC championship. The men are led by sophomore Kyle Casiglio, who won both NECC Runner of the Year and Rookie of the Year awards a year ago and fellow sophomore All-NECC First Team honoree Chris Conforti, as well as second-teamer Gus Peluso.

The Lynx women run in search of a fourth consecutive NECC title in 2011. Lesley is led by junior Noa Kupfer, the NECC Runner of the Year her first two seasons. Also returning is last year's Rookie of the Year Leah Miller, and the Lynx return the entire NECC First Team from 2010, including Jessica Foster, Elize McKelvey and Kat Vicino, and four of the five members of the league's Second Team.

Lesley's women's team kicks off 2011 on Saturday at the President's Cup hosted by Lasell College, while both teams are in action on Saturday, September 17 at the UMass-Dartmouth Invitational.