Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Martin Named to All Conference 2nd Team

Martin Named to All Conference 2nd Team

ATTLEBORO, Mass. –  The NECC announced its 2017-18 Men's Basketball All-Conference teams and major award winners on Monday afternoon. Junior Joey Martin was named to the All Conference Second team, as voted on by the NECC coaches.  The awards were voted on by the conference's eight coaches following the conclusion of the regular season. All eight conference schools are represented on the all-conference teams or major awards, with Mitchell College leading the way with three honorees. Southern Vermont College claimed three of the four major awards.

Martin was 5th in the conference in 3PT % with 38.3, 10th in the conference with total points scored with 403, and 7th in the conference in total rebounds with 203.  Of his 203 total rebounds he grabbed 177 of them on the defensive boards ranking him 3rd in the conferece. Martin led the Lynx to back to back semi final appearaces leading his team with a 14.9 PPG stat line. 

Southern Vermont senior guard Mike Pierre (Melrose, N.Y.) was voted the 2018 NECC Player of the Year, while his teammate Daemond Carter (Forestville, Md.) was named Defensive Player of the Year. Elms College freshman Greg Metelus (Palm Beach, Fla.) was named Rookie of the Year. Southern Vermont head coach Dan Engelstad was voted Coach of the Year by his peers.

Pierre is joined on the first team by Jordan Booker (Waterbury, Conn.) of Dean College, and Domenico Santiago (Port St. Lucie, Fla.) of Mitchell. Becker College places two on the first-team, as forward Samuel Durodola (Rosedale, N.Y.) and guard Kareem Davis (Lowell, Mass.) round out the first team selections.  

The second team features two Mitchell Mariners, guard Alan Morgan (Port St. Lucie, Fla.) and forward Hasani Williams (Miramar, Fla.).  Lesley University forward Joey Martin (Melbourne, Fla.) also earned second-team accolades, as did Newbury College's Jeduan Langston (Roxbury, Mass.) and Wheelock College's Dejuan Rodriguez (New London, Conn.).


First Team All-NECC

Kareem Davis, Becker (Jr., G, Lowell, Mass.)

Samuel Durodola, Becker (Sr., F, Rosedale, N.Y.)

Jordan Booker, Dean (So., G, Waterbury, Conn.)

Domenico Santiago, Mitchell (Jr., C, Port St. Lucie, Fla.)

Mike Pierre, Southern Vermont (Sr., G, Melrose, N.Y.)

Second Team All-NECC

Joey Martin, Lesley (Jr., F, Melbourne, Fla.)

Alan Morgan, Mitchell (Sr., G, Port St. Lucie, Fla.)

Hasani Williams, Mitchell (So., F, Miramar, Fla.)

Jeduan Langston, Newbury (Sr., G, Roxbury, Mass.)

Dejuan Rodriguez, Wheelock (Jr., F, New London, Conn.)


All-NECC Sportsmanship Team

Bernard Broaster, Becker (Jr., F, Pembroke Pines, Fla.)

Noah Cesar, Dean (Fr., G, Miami, Fla.)

Tyler Sterling, Elms (Fr., G, Laurel, Md.)

William Cuffee, Lesley (Jr., F, Amherst, Mass.)

Colizel Lewis, Mitchell (Sr., G, Stockton, Calif.)

Tim Deng, Newbury (Fr., F, Portland, Maine)

Rohan Piple, Southern Vermont (Jr., G/F, Germantown, Md.)

Brendan Miller, Wheelock (Fr., F, Tampa, Fla.)