Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Lynx prepare for Bridgewater State in ECAC Tournament

Lynx prepare for Bridgewater State in ECAC Tournament

CENTERVILLE, MA -- For 2010 New England Collegiate Conference Coach of the Year Paul Vasconcelos' and his five All-NECC First Team selections, November means playoffs.

Lesley University for a second straight year has earned a playoff birth in the Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) New England Tournament. The No. 8 Lynx will travel to No. 1 Bridgewater State to take on the Bears on Wednesday at 4:00 p.m.

The Bears were eliminiated from the MASCAC Tournament in a 2-1 loss to Salem State College in double overtime. At 12-5 (5-2 MASCAC), Bridgewater State features a balanced attack led by Matt Palatino and Jose DePino, both of whom totaled 19 points on nine goals. Six different players have scored 10 or more points for the Bears.

Lesley and All-NECC First Team selections Zachary Almeida-Beers, Ali Sozeri, Ari Sinanis, Christian Domingo and Stephen Siragusa look to rebound from a disappointing loss in the NECC Semifinals. In addition to a nearly equally balanced offense of five players with nine or more points, Lesley boasts the NECC's best defense, backed by Almeida-Beers and his miniscule 0.37 goals against average.

In the 2009 ECAC Tournament, Lesley fell to WIT, 2-1.

Should Lesley advance on Wednesday, the Lynx will take on either No. 4 Brandeis (9-7-1) or No. 5 Albertus Magnus (15-5-1) on Saturday at 11 a.m. A complete breakdown of the New England field is below:

1.       Bridgewater State University (12-5-0)

2.       Western New England (13-6-2)

3.       Salve Regina University (13-5-2)

4.       Brandeis University (9-7-1)

5.       Albertus Magnus College (15-5-1)

6.       Framingham State University (11-9-1)

7.       Lyndon State College (10-3-3)

8.       Lesley University (15-2-1)


2010 ECAC Division III New England Men's Soccer Championship

First Round – November 10, 2010

No. 8 Lesley (15-2-1) at No. 1 Bridgewater State (12-5-0), 4 p.m.

No. 7 Lyndon State (10-3-3) at No. 2 WNEC (13-6-2), 1 p.m.

No. 6 Framingham State (11-9-1) at No. 3 Salve Regina (13-5-2), 1 p.m.

No. 5 Albertus Magnus (15-5-1) at No. 4 Brandeis (9-7-1), 6 p.m.


Semifinals – Saturday, November 13 at TBA
No. 1/No. 8 winner vs. No. 4/No. 5 winner, 11:00 a.m.

No. 2/No. 7 winner vs. No. 3/No. 6 winner, 1:30 p.m.


Championship – Sunday, November 14 at TBA

Two Semifinal Winners, 12:00 p.m.