Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

DiPietrantonio Rookie of the Year; four Lynx to All-NECC

DiPietrantonio Rookie of the Year; four Lynx to All-NECC

ATTLEBORO, MA -- Lesley freshman Paolo DiPietrantonio has been named New England Collegiate Conference Rookie of the Year, the league announced Monday.

Four Lynx players received All-NECC First Team honors, with David Newton and Alex Zhitnik earning first team singles and the tandem of Nick Mattox and Christian Domingo receiving doubles honors.

DiPietrantonio finished regular season play with a 5-3 overall record, going 4-2 in conference play at the No. 3 singles position.

In doubles play, he was 2-3 overall and 2-1 in the NECC at between No. 1 and No. 3 doubles.

Lesley's David Newton and Alex Zhitnik earned All-NECC First Team honors. Newton went 7-3 overall, 6-2 in NECC matches, while playing exclusively out of the first singles spot. Zhitnik went 7-2 overall, and also went 6-2 in league, playing out of the second and third singles spots as a sophomore.

Domingo and Mattox were named to the All-NECC First Team as a doubles team after going 6-3 on the year, 6-2 in NECC matches, playing exclusively in second doubles. Mattox was also named All-NECC Honorable Mention as a singles player on the strength of an 8-2 record (6-2 NECC) based entirely out of the No. 2 spot.

SINGLES  Overall   Dual   Tour   NECC  1 2 3 4 5 6  Nat'l   Reg'l   Streak   Last10 
Paolo DiPietrantonio 5-3 5-3 0-0 4-2  ---   ---   5-3   ---   ---   ---  0-0 0-0 L 1 5-3

ALL‐NECC First Team

Kyle Carmona Mitchell JR Norwich, Conn.
Rocco Devona Mitchell SO Waterford, Conn.
Tyler Engleberg Mitchell JR Niantic, Conn.
Adam Samuels Mitchell SR New Rochelle, N.Y.
David Newton Lesley JR Hamden, Conn.
Alex Zhitnik Lesley SR West Hartford, Conn.
Wilson Chang Wheelock SR Lee, Mass.
Kyle Carmona/Rocco Devona Mitchell JR/SO Norwich, Conn. /Waterford, Conn.
Christian Domingo/ Nick Mattox Lesley SR/SO Los Angeles, Calif. /Pasadena, Md.
Tyler Engleberg/Alex Fusco Mitchell JR/JR Niantic, Conn./Saugus, Mass.

ALL‐NECC Honorable Mention
Nick Mattox Lesley SO Pasadena, Md.
Brian Piquette Becker FR Agawam, Mass.
Bobby Venning Wheelock JR Greenfield, N.H.
Branden Parkhouse/Tim Howard Becker SO/JR Rancho Cucamonga, Calif./Paxton, Mass.

2011 Men's Tennis Honors
2011 NECC Player of the Year: Kyle Carmona, Mitchell
2011 NECC Rookie of the Year: Paolo DiPietrantonio, Lesley
2011 NECC Coach of the Year: Rick Carmona, Mitchell
2011 NECC Team Sportsmanship Award: Wheelock Wildcats