Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Flaherty Named To NECC All-Sportsmanship Team

Flaherty Named To NECC All-Sportsmanship Team

ATTLEBORO, Mass. – First year Evan Flaherty (Scituate, Mass.) was named to the New England Collegiate Conference (NECC) All-Sportsmanship Team, announced Tuesday afternoon.

Appearing in four conference doubles matches with teammate and fellow first year Patrick Corcoran (West Hartford, Conn.), the duo posted a 2-2 record. Flaherty also played hard against conference opponents at the top of the Lynx singles where he registered a 1-3 singles record against NECC foes.

In addition, junior Max Anthony (Boston, Mass.) was named to the NECC All-Tournament team following his fifth singles victory in the NECC semifinals against Becker on Sunday.

The five-time 2017 NECC Champion Regis College swept all the major awards including putting four players on the All-Conference First Team for singles. Regis' Chris Harrow earned NECC Player of the Year honors while teammate Gabriel Montealegre was named Rookie of the Year and Head Coach John Ciarleglio was named the 2017 Coach of the Year.

2017 NECC All-Conference Team
Player of the Year:
Chris Harrow, Regis
Rookie of the Year: Gabriel Montealegre, Regis
Coach of the Year: John Ciarleglio, Regis

All-Conference - Singles
Aaron Peterson, Becker (Sr., San Diego, Calif.)
Nolan Bebarta, Regis (Fr., Danville, Calif.)
Cam Charbonneau, Regis (So., Guilford, Conn.)
Chris Harrow, Regis (Jr., North Reading, Mass.)
Gabriel Montealegre, Regis (Manaqua, Nicaragua) 
Arvin Hedayaty, Wheelock (So., Tarzana, Calif.) 

All Conference – Doubles
Matt Brown (Sr., Angola, Ind.) & Arvin Hedayaty, Wheelock
Nolan Bebarta & Luke Horton (So., Bass Harbor, Maine), Regis
Chris Harrow & Gabriel Montealegre, Regis

All-Sportsmanship Team
Thomas Lanphear, Becker (Jr., Manchester, Maine)  
Evan Flaherty, Lesley (Fr., Scituate, Mass.)
Evan Russel, Regis (Fr., East Wareham, Mass.)
Matt Brown, Wheelock (Sr., Angola, Ind.)