Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Lesley falls to DWC in NECC Semifinals

Lesley falls to DWC in NECC Semifinals

Story courtesy of Rob Palardy, Assistant Athletic Director of Sports Information

BROOKLINE, Mass. – The #3 seed Lesley University men's volleyball team reached their second consecutive New England Collegiate Conference (NECC) Semifinal match, but fell to the #2 seed Daniel Webster College Eagles 3-0 (30-18, 30-24, 30-24).  The Lynx end their 2010 campaign with an improved 6-17 record.

The Eagles improved to 8-11 and reached the conference finals in just their second season of existence following a ten-year absence. 

The Lynx were led by seniors Scott Wheeler (EAST HAMPTON, Conn./East Hampton) and Nick Assad (ANDOVER, Mass./Andover)  who each had 10 kills in their final match of their collegiate careers.  Both players were strong on the defensive end combined for 25 digs with Assad leading all players with a match-high 17.  Junior Zachary Almeida-Beers (REHOBOTH, Mass./Dighton-Rehoboth Regional) added nine kills to Lesley's offensive effort.

Daniel Webster First Team All-Conference selection Chris Shannon (RONKONKOMA, N.Y./North Sachem) had a 15 kills with a .227 hit percentage as well as a team-high 12 digs in victory.  Eric Smith (CLAY, N.Y./Cicero) was solid for the Eagles as well with 18 assists, nine digs, and seven kills.

Lesley setter Stephen Siragusa (VALLEY STREAM, N.Y./Valley Stream) had 30 assists in the match and finished the season with a Lesley men's volleyball record 596 assists.

Wheeler, who was named NECC Defensive Player of the Year and All-Conference Honorable Mention, was also named to the All-Tournament team with his performance in the conference semifinals.  Shannon and Smith also earned All-Tournament selections.

After doubling their win total from 2009 with six wins this season, the Lynx will now look forward to continued improvement in 2011.   

NECC All-Tournament Team

MVP: Mark Thomas, Newbury College
Newbury College: James Beck
Newbury College: Joshua Aberly
Daniel Webster College: Eric Smith
Daniel Webster College: Chris Shannon
Lesley University: Scott Wheeler
Elms College: Mike Martin