Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Softball Leads NECC With 7 All-Conference Selections

Softball Leads NECC With 7 All-Conference Selections

Marshfield, Mass.--  The Lesley Softball team had the highest representation in the NECC Postseason All-Conference Awards with six different players recognized for seven different awards, as announced by the conference office on Tuesday morning.  Sophomores Jordan Day and Riley Pickett earned spots on the All-Conference First team, Day joined by junior Ally Murphy and freshman Mahlia Medina were named to the All-Conference Second Team, while senior Ashleigh Acker and freshman Jen Thorburn earned All-Conference Third Team Selections.  The awards were voted on by the conference's nine coaches following the conclusion of the regular season.

Day continues to pace the offense for the Lynx and remains leading the NECC in batting average (.582), homeruns (9), runs (48), hits (71), doubles (15), on base percentage (.603), slugging percentage (.943), and is second in the NECC in RBI's (42), awarding her the NECC All-Conference first team selection for the designated player position.  Sophomore counterpart in Pickett is among the top 10 in the conference in doubles (10 for 9th), hits (46 for 7th), runs (40 for 2nd), slugging percentage (.597 for 10th), and homeruns (6 for 7th).  Pickett has started all 34 games played and posts a .901 fielding percentage at thirdbase, earning her a spot on the NECC All-Conference First Team Selection.

Day was also named to the All-Conference Second team as a pitcher for the Lynx. In a team high 89.1 innings pitched, Day posts a 9-7 overall record, 1 save, and has fanned 98 batters ranking her in the top three in the NECC conference.  Junior catcher Murphy is showing a strong season for the Lynx posting a .362 overall batting average and a strong.452 average in conference play.  Behind the dish, Murphy has a perfect 1.000 fielding percentage and has thrown out 3 runners.  Freshman Medina joins Day and Murphy on the All-Conference Second team at second base.  The first year lead off hitter is ranked among the NECC for runs scored (36 for 3rd), hits (39 for 11th), and double plays (8 for 2nd).  She posts a .948 fielding percentage in the middle infield and posts a team high 69 assists. 

Senior shortstop in Acker and freshman pitcher in Thorburn round out the Lynx awards on the All-Conference Third team.  Acker posts a .391 batting average, is ranked among the NECC top ten in hits (43), doubles (11), and RBI's (31), while posting a .924 fielding percentage at shortstop.  First year Thorburn has tossed 82.1 innings for the Lynx is is ranked fourth in strike outs with 74.  She has a 10-4 overall record, and posts a 4.08 ERA ranking her fifth in the NECC.

First year reliever, Kara Haga was named to the Del Malloy Sportsmanship team for Lesley. 

Eastern Nazarene senior, Lauren Clements has been voted as the 2019 Player of the Year while teammate, Elisabeth Schaffer garnered Pitcher of the Year honors. New England College first year, Daelyn Ross was voted as the Rookie of the Year. Closing out the major awards is Eastern Nazarene head coach, Dani Bishop who was voted as the 2019 Coach of the Year. 


2019 NECC Softball All-Conference

First Team

P – Elisabeth Schaffer, Eastern Nazarene

P – Taylor Barbour, New England College

C – Lauren Clements, Eastern Nazarene

1B – Daelyn Ross, New England College

2B – Chanel Welch, New England College

3B – Riley Pickett, Lesley

SS – Sarah Ellis, Becker

OF – Vasia Murphy, Becker

OF – Kori Bow, Eastern Nazarene

OF – Alexa Scribner, New England College

DP – Jordan Day, Lesley

Second Team 

P – Samantha Belenchia, Becker

P – Jordan Day, Lesley

C – Ally Murphy, Lesley

1B – Katelyn Sylvia, Elms

2B – Mahlia Medina, Lesley

3B – Alexis Vieira, Newbury College

SS – Madison Messier, Elms

OF – Catharine Wrang, Elms

OF – Arianna Gooden, Newbury College

OF – Averi Johnson, Newbury College

DP – Suzanne Vachon, Mitchell

Third Team 

P – Lisa Lusardi, Elms

P – Jen Thorburn, Lesley

C – Alex Lopez, Mitchell

1B – Kiley Ozaki, Eastern Nazarene

2B – Alyssa Columb, Becker

3B – Lauren Niemann, Becker

SS – Ashleigh Acker, Lesley

OF – Shawnie Clark, New England Col.

OF – Miranda Seacord, Dean

OF – Kayla Doherty, Elms

DP – Caroline Mahoney, Newbury College 

2019 Del Malloy Sportsmanship Team

Emily Farone, New England College

Kara Haga, Lesley

Madison Goodhart, Bay Path

Samantha Buzgo, Becker

Bridget McDonough, Dean

Kelly Donahue, Eastern Nazarene

Toni Borg, Southern Vermont

Shelby Brouillette, Elms

Paige Aguilar, Mitchell

Madison Elliott, Newbury


Official NECC Postseason Awards Release